CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Open Land for Shooting in DFW Area?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:32 pm 
Field Grade

This may be a silly question, but I am still pretty new to shotguns and just shooting in general.

I started hunting duck this past season with my brother and really enjoyed it. I ended up purchasing a couple guns during the latter part of the season. I've been wanting to take the guns out just to shoot them and become more familiar with them, but don't know of any place to go other than the lease which is 3 hours away. Does anyone know if there is open land in the Denton/Dallas area that allows shooting? Or if there are cheap leases available around here for just going on and shooting or for hunting things like rabbits? Any advice would be great. Just would like to take the guns out maybe once a month for some target practice or rabbit hunting. Thanks!

Post subject: re: Open Land for Shooting in DFW Area?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:41 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

1 hour west of you is the LBJ Grasslands. Area #3 allows target shooting. The rest of the area allows hunting. There is some GREAT rabbit hunting out there.
1 hour east of you is the Caddo Grasslands. Again great rabbit and squirrel hunting.

http://www.fs.fed.us/r8/texas/

Since I'm a heavy user of the Grasslands I ask that you clean up your hulls and leave the place cleaner than you found it and have a great time.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:52 pm 
Field Grade